Family Visit: Copenhagen and Lund

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Family (Mom, Dad, Chris, Jean) came to visit me for about 10 days. It was good while it lasted.  Spent a lot of time in Copenhagen and a day in Sweden, then our trip to Paris.

So, I woke up at 6AM just to get to the airport by 7:30 to greet the family. Once we met, we went to the hotel, which was more of an apartment, except we couldn’t use the kitchen. After walking around a bit and having lunch, we just rested the remainder of the day. Chris joined us later that night.

The next day, we went to Nyhavn and took a canal tour which was very nice because it showed many of the attractions by water.  Then we had lunch at Cafe G. It was a buffet consisting of all sorts of foods like smoked salmon, breads, salad, eggs, sausages, pancakes, etc. Stuffed myself silly, I think I over did it. Afterwards, we went to Tivoli Gardens, which is an amusement park and just walked around, saw some shops, and listened to a musical performance. After dinner, Chris and I went to Streckers, had a couple of beers and just talked.

Next day, went to Amalienborg Palace, where the royal family lives. Saw the changing of the guards (which wasn’t very amusing) and then went to the museum there. For lunch, we had open face sandwiches, then went to the Marble Church. I thought there would be more to that church, but guess not. Then we walked through the King’s Garden and saw Rosenborg Castle. Our last stop was the Round Tower, which was conveniently a block away from our hotel. There was a spiraling walkway up to the top and the view there was pretty nice. We decided to get take out chinese food and bring it back to the hotel to eat. I think it was my first time having asian food for 2 months. It was probably not that great, but it satisfied me.

Tuesday, we took the train to see Lund. I was able to bring all my goodies from home. So much food, so much love. I won’t need to buy snacks for a while, that’s for sure. After dropping off all that, we went back to the center of town and had lunch at Stortorget, next to Hercules. The food was delicious here. I had the salmon and it was moist and flavorful. After lunch, I took them to Kulturen, which is an open air museum. You go into the old styled buildings and see exhibits and the way they once lived back in the day. We also were able to pick walnuts and pears that had fallen to the ground. I love how in Sweden, it is okay to just go out in the countryside or the forest and pick fruits and whatnot. After having a cup of coffee in the AF building, the family departed and I went back home.

Stay tuned for part 2 of the family visit (paris!)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Family Visit: Copenhagen and Lund

  1. meganalim says:

    Dude, that’s so awesome that your family came to visit you! 😀

Leave a comment