Longest weekend ever: Copenhagen

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Clara came to visit and said she was coming with her friend. We’ve been waiting for this to happen for months now. Initially, she was suppose to arrive at 1pm Thursday. However, she called me in the morning, saying that she missed the ferry and wouldn’t get here till about 6pm. So at 6, I decided to bike to the Central Train Station and wait for her, but then I get another phone call when I get there saying she JUST got to the port and it would take another 2 hours. I was going to just wait in town for her because biking back and forth is tiring; however, when the phone hung up because her time ran out, I accidentally turned off my cell phone and when I tried to turn it back on, it gave me the “wrong SIM card” message. Oh my god, it was a nightmare waiting to happen. So I hurried back home, got on youtube and tried to unlock my phone again, which I did. However, now whenever I turn off my phone, it resets. So, I’m going to have to be careful about that. Anyways, I get another call saying she arrived so I biked back into town to the Expresso House across from the train station. I entered the door, and what the heck! I see Clara with Medina! It was really nice that they kept it a surprise. Aw, it was so good to see them both.

Anyways, they were hungry because they didn’t really eat all day, so I was going to take them to Cafe Ariman, which I tried with my mentor group but instead, we just stopped at a cheap falafel and kebab place. Afterwards, we went to Herkules Bar, because I’ve heard that was the place to go in town. It was pretty expensive but classy there. Bought a cider for 62kr. After enjoying the atmosphere, we decided to end the night early and go back because they were tired and we had a long day ahead of us (we planned to stay up the whole night in Copenhagen Friday because Clara had to be at the airport by 7am). I led them to the bus stop and told them where to get off, then I biked and met them there.

Initially, I was going to share my bed with Clara and have her friend sleep on the floor with my comforter and extra blanket. However, it was Medina so we all decided to share my puny bed. We just laid in the opposite direction and put my bookcase down for our feet. It wasn’t all that uncomfortable.

The next morning we made eggs for breakfast and I hurried, packed for class and for my weekend trip to Göteborg. I went to my first class, Intro to Scandinavian Culture and Society. Right after, I met Medina and Clara at the train station. We stopped by the airport in Copenhagen to drop off their luggage. And out we began to explore Copenhagen. We were going to see the Round Tower because I didn’t go last time but we couldn’t find it and it was most likely closed by the time we would get there. So instead we walked around, went to Christiania and Ny haven and had pastries. Then we stopped at a pizza place. It was delicious but drenched in grease. A parade of people on roller blades passed by while we ate. I don’t know what it was exactly but there was a lot of people.

We were going to go see the opera house at night because the lights were suppose to be pretty but instead, we went to a bar we passed by earlier because they had happy hour until 10pm and we didn’t want to miss it. We sat around and chatted till a band came and played music. They played a lot of American songs and were very good. Some guy came and talked to us, mainly Clara and wanted to know where we were from and such. He seemed like a very friendly guy but creepy as well because he was old. We were sitting at the table when he comes with 3 pints of beer for us. Wow, awesome. He just threw away 150kr (30$) for us. Anyways, live music and good company made it a good night.

We went to McDonalds at 3am to grab some food; it was flooded with bar goers. We just ordered fries and shared. It was so trashed inside and out. Bags littered the area. This was not Copenhagen at its finest.

We ended up going back to the airport. Nothing was open anyways, it was too late. So we got to Kastrup, and unfortunately, Clara had lost her token for her locker and had to pay a fine. However after all that, we were able to sit down on the floor and dozed off for 30 minutes. At 7am, she checked in and I said good bye to her and went back to Lund. Bought a child’s ticket which is like half the price. Got on the train and fell asleep. I briefly woke up when the person checking tickets came by but I pretended not to be awake and she just walked by. Sweet. At one point, I thought I had missed my stop, but thankfully, I didn’t. Got back to Lund at 8 and only had 1 hour before I had to be back at the train station to go to Göteborg so I decided to chill at ICA (supermarket) and sit and have coffee at the cafe for an hour.

The weekend adventure continues with travels to Göteborg…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment